Occupational Therapy

Regulatory Responsibility: Although a national exam is required, the state board, or council grants Occupational Therapy licenses. Occupational therapy (OT) is regulated in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam.  In July 2014, Hawaii became the 50th state to license occupational therapists.

Program Accreditation: Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE®) is recognized as the accrediting agency for occupational therapy education.

Exam:  After completing an occupational therapy program including fieldwork experiences, the candidate is eligible to take the national certification exam from the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT). After a candidate passes the exam they are considered certified and/or nationally “registered” thus, the “R” in OTR.

National Professional Organization:  American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) http://www.aota.org/. » .

Steps to Licensure:

  1. Complete an accredited program
  2. Take and pass national exam (NBCOT) for national certification
  3. Apply for state licensure

graphic illustration showing the 3 steps to obtain licensure for the state of kansas. These are also listed in the text.

Kansas Board of Healing Arts:

Occupational Therapy Kansas Requirements and Licensure Information »