Family Counseling

Regulatory Responsibility:  Currently all 50 states support and regulate the profession by licensing marriage and family therapists. The regulatory requirements in most states are substantially equivalent to the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists Clinical Membership standards. See  » for more information. 

Accreditation:  Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE) reviews and grants accreditation to programs at a Masters, Doctoral, and Post-Degree levels that meet or exceed COAMFTE Accreditation Standards. A list of currently accredited programs can be accessed at » .

Exam: After graduation from an accredited program, a period (usually two years) of post-degree supervised clinical experience is necessary before licensure or certification. When the supervision period is completed, the therapist can take a state licensing exam, or the national examination for marriage and family therapists conducted by the AAMFT Regulatory Boards. This exam is used as a licensure requirement in most states.  For state specific information see » .

Steps to Licensure:

  1. Complete an accredited program
  2. Complete internship
  3. Take and pass State or National exam
  4. Apply for state licensure

graphic illustration of steps to obtain lincensure in Kansas. Steps are listed just prior to this illustration.

Licensed Marriage & Family Therapist (LMFT) & Licensed Clinical Marriage & Family Therapist (LCMFT) Kansas Requirements and Licensure Information »